The end, but not quite.

Hey all. Vina here.

I know it’s been a while since we posted any actual content — there’s been some here and there, but I apologize for the inconsistency. This is gonna be a long explanation, so bear with me.

Last month, my business partner Sage and I were discussing short and long-term goals for both of us in terms for Flow and in our individual personal lives. HNL Flow has been an amazing opportunity for our student staffers and interns to learn more about the flourishing creative community on Oahu, and it highlights underrated entrepreneurs and artists who never had a proper outlet to share their story.

These past 4 years have been a whirlwind journey. I remember the first ever photoshoot we did for HNL Flow (in collaboration with Glorified Supply Company and Kalapaki Girl Dezigns). This was followed by the two launch parties we did later that year – the first at Fresh Cafe, the other at a private venue held by one of our photographers. We also helped Glorified Supply Company to bring two YouTube artists to Hawaii for a benefit concert.

Every meeting we ever did ended in laughter and “where are we gonna eat, you guys?”, and leftover cookies from Safeway. I remember every person that came on board and embodied the core of what Flow is. More than 50 people came onboard to work for Flow, and each person has had a great impact on my life in one way or another.

But these past few weeks have left me thinking…and I’ve decided that after 12 issues, there will be no new issues of HNL Flow.

I have to be honest. It’s been extremely difficult keeping this operation running on my own, and even more so, to bring everyone together. I feel bad that I’ve kept pushing things back and giving empty promises, which I terribly apologize for. We can’t exactly give 100 percent to something when we’re not exactly at 100 percent, if that makes sense? At the pace it’s running right now, it’s unhealthy for me to move it forward.

Staffers that you’ve come to know as the ‘Flow Fam’ have now been working on their own individual creative projects or going through new seasons in their lives, myself included. Some of us juggle work and extracurricular activities, and school is about to start in a bit As creatives, we’re not wired to stay in one place for a very long time. We’re constantly moving and progressing, and HNL Flow has been a great milestone in each of our lives.

Don’t get me wrong — I love HNL Flow; I know so many others do too. But right now…It’s not working out, and I feel like it’s run its course.

We will do our best to still be around, in other ways. When we will be back with new issues…that’s a question I can’t answer, at least for right now. I do want to bring back HNL Flow one day, maybe resurrect it as a completely different concept. Who knows? I’ll still be running the Instagram from time to time, but it may not be as consistent as it used to be.

As the title suggests, it’s the end — but not quite. We’ll still be around.

Just know that I am forever grateful for what has happened, and what is to come.

To our readers and followers, you are the reason why we’ve stuck around for so long.  To those we’ve worked with and are still working on their grind — you. do. you. I’m glad we got to collaborate. I’ve met some amazing human beings because of this magazine and have had the pleasure of hearing passionate stories about our local creative community (and I hope to continue hearing them!). So please keep in touch!

Our final issue will publish the first week of August, and we hope we’ve done our best.

On behalf of my team, I am so thankful for your patience, support and your love as we trek on new ventures together.

We love you all! Keep on flowing.

Best,
Vina Cristobal
Founding editor-in-chief, HNL Flow

Leave a Reply

