FLOW EATS: Cream n’ Roll

Words + photos: Jenelle Ho

Located near University Avenue, Cream n’ Roll, is one of the many local businesses providing beautifully rolled and decorated ice cream cups.

IMG_0954

When my friends and I entered around five o’clock in the afternoon, , the pleasantly decorated establishment was mostly vacant with the exception of a few customers scraping their last spoonfuls of ice cream out of their cups.

We easily found a table for five and excitedly headed towards the counter.

With an abundant amount of bases, flavors, and additives to choose from, ordering proved to be more difficult than we expected. Not having been to any other “ice-cream rolling” establishment before, I was a little overwhelmed by the number of choices I had to make and opt out. My friends, however, were hell-bent on eating the trendy ice cream everyone else seemed to rave about.

IMG_0961

After my friends each decided what concoction of base, flavor, and toppings they were going to get, they finally ordered. Each cup took a little while to make, but my friends and I were too busy being mesmerized by the preparation process to notice time any ticking by.

One of my friends ordered green tea ice cream with cookie butter, graham crackers, azuki beans and condensed milk on top.

My other friend decided on a vanilla based, cookies and cream with mochi balls, and chocolate syrup on top. She said it “was better than ice cream, creamy but not too much,” and later added “it looked like it wasn’t going to fill me up, but it surprisingly did. It was super filling.”

IMG_0968

After filling our stomachs with ice cream, my friends and I stayed a couple of hours to chat and play a few card games.  At around seven, more people started flooding in, so we decided to call it a night.

With its deliciously rolled ice cream (as my friends have told me) and charming sitting area, Cream n’ Roll is definitely on my list of places to return to.

IMG_0951-4

Cream n’ Roll (in the old Bubbies location) 
1010 University Avenue B4
Honolulu, HI 96826
Hours:
Sunday – Thursday: 12 p.m. – 10 p.m.
Friday and Saturday: 12 p.m. – 12 a.m.
Facebook  | Instagram

Leave a Reply

