FLOW EATS: Sweet Creams

Words and photos by Lalaine Ignao

Behind Thank Q Pocha lies a new ice cream parlor called Sweet Creams. The new dessert shop features a new twist on ice cream that seems to taking over the dessert industry by storm – or at least, my Instagram newsfeed. Before going to the grand opening of the shop, I thought the only special thing about this new fad came from the idea of the ice cream getting rolled up and dressed in unique different toppings. Regardless, I became intrigued and instantly added this to my foodie bucket list.

I found out about the new ice cream parlor after seeing an article that advertised the grand opening. Ecstatic, I could not wait for the day to arrive, especially with the incentive of receiving a cute penguin sticker on opening day (Do not judge, I love collecting things to keep for memories).

img_9513


Once
opening day, I hurried over to town to finally experience this new ice cream trend. During my visit, Sweet Creams held a steady crowd. People of all ages came to enjoy a sweet treat. The place definitely holds a family oriented type of atmosphere as I found two little girls on my right side with both parents enjoying their ice cream. On my left, I caught a father with his son and daughter singing songs from Moana while waiting for their order to finish.

img_9514

The menu gives you the option of either creating your own personalized order or choosing from their pre-made flavors. For a while, I could not decide which flavor to try but ended up ordering “Love You So Matcha” while my friend tried “Frozen Hot Cocoa.” My order consisted of matcha green tea ice cream, whipped cream, mochi bites, azuki beans and a wafer cookie. At first, I felt skeptical about the azuki beans but quickly changed my mind after the first bite.

IMG_9505.JPGThe Frozen Hot Cocoa (left) and Love You So Matcha (right). 

Meanwhile, the “Frozen Hot Cocoa” included chocolate ice cream, chocolate chips, whipped cream, chocolate drizzle, graham cracker and a Pocky stick with a toasted marshmallow on top. I ordered the keiki size, which had just the right amount of ice cream to satisfy my craving.

The rolled up ice cream trend originated from Thailand as an ice cream roll or fried ice cream. To make the ice cream itself, employees would pour the sweet liquid onto their fried ice cream pan and begin scraping the liquid profusely until it becomes a thick ice cream consistency to roll up. All in all, my dream to try this new dessert trend became fully satisfied and I have already planned on what to try next – strawberries and cream.

Sweet Creams  
1430 Kona St., Honolulu, HI 96814
Monday to Saturday: 12 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Sunday: 12 p.m. to 7 p.m.
(808) 260-4725

Follow Sweet Creams:
Website | Facebook | Instagram 

 

Leave a Reply

