VIXIN: Jewelry for Your Soul

Words: Vina Cristobal | Photos: Mark Galacgac

Five years ago, local resident Theresa Capllonch had a desire to make jewelry. But with school and extra-curricular activities, she minimized her time of making jewelry seriously. After graduating college last year, she launched her jewelry line, VIXIN, which is inspired by mysterious and bohemian undertones.

7-2

What are your inspirations? 
I am inspired by the raw; most untouched parts of an individual. Each person has different features, which make them beautifully unique so I created a line that enhances those features to make them feel empowered.

 

 

Where did the name “Vixin” come from? 
I wanted my line to be defined by light and dark, jewelry with your soul. When brainstorming dark words, I heard vixen and was immediately inspired. When I hear it, I think mysteriously dark yet captivatingly classy, which is exactly what I wanted for my line. VIXIN products are more than an accessory, but a classy accentuation of your soul. They are meant to empower.

 

8-2

Explain the process of making jewelry. Where do you get all your materials from? 
My line includes body chains, hand chains, anklets and necklaces but what I focus on are rings. I wanted to create rings that were able to be worn daily without turning your finger green, yet affordable for people. All my rings are created with 14k gold-filled or sterling silver wire. After graduating last May, I invested in equipment and made a little at-home studio where I solder, polish and tumble all my handcrafted treasures.

 

What future plans do you have for your jewelry line? 
For the future, I plan to participate in more public events since this is the first time VIXIN is doing one.

 

7

 

To purchase jewelry from VIXIN, go to their website, Instagram, or find VIXIN at our Flow Show: Spring Break on March 26, 2016 at Makers & Tasters.

Leave a Reply

