FLOW EATS: Egghead Cafe

Words + Photos by: Vina Cristobal

 

Wooden tables for a classic look? Check. Lighting for a perfect Instagram photo? Check. Outdoor patio with succulent décor? Check.
Egghead Café has all the essentials for the photogenic foodie. While it just opened its doors a few weeks ago, it quickly gained popularity Instagrammers and Yelpers alike who have discovered this hole-in-the-wall gem, which was heavily inspired by the design of small Californian cafes.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Knowing that I was in the area – and had only eaten a small breakfast – I decided to head over to Egghead, which had a surprisingly small turnout.

While my friend opted for a small cup of cappuccino, I went for the pesto grilled chicken sandwich with a side of mixed greens. The sandwich came in a pair, which was a filling combination of tomatoes, goat cheese, lettuce, pesto and grilled chicken. The mixed greens, drizzled in balsamic vinaigrette, sat lightly on the side of the plate.

 

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset
Along with my brunch, I ordered the iced mocha. Although it was the same price as anywhere else, the presentation of the mocha was unusually hipster (in the cutest way possible). The drink came in a large uncapped mason jar, with a straw sticking out. Once I took a sip of the iced mocha, I thought to myself, “I think I found my new favorite coffee spot.”

 

This restaurant prides itself in great service, great food and amazing presentation that even the amateur Insta-foodie fawns over.

As the title photo suggests, “Smile — be an egghead.”

You won’t be let down.

 

Egghead Café
885 Queen Street
Honolulu, HI 96813
eggheadhonolulu.com | Facebook | Instagram 

Leave a Reply

